European Parliament

This is the parliamentary body of the European Union (EU), which is directly elected by citizens every five years. In fact, it is the only part of the EU body that is democratic, and in fact it is supported by a majority of EU citizens and not by EU members.
Together with the Council of Ministers, it is composed of all the legislative branches and institutions of the Union. The European Parliament convenes the European Commission, the EU executive and the executive board of the Commission.
In accordance with the two-stage constitutional system in which the European Union is formed, citizens are directly represented in the Union at all levels, at EU level and in the European Parliament. We reaffirm the two foundations of the democratic legitimacy of our Union: the right of citizens to be directly and democratically represented in both the Council of Ministers and the Executive Board.
The third major EU institution is the European Council, which is made up of member states meeting for EU summits. In the EU Council itself, the Member States are represented by their governments, which are directly responsible for implementing EU legislation in their respective countries. Member States have the right to have their say in the Council of Ministers and the Executive Board, as well as in EU legislation, by sending their ministers to the Commission, the Executive Board and other EU institutions.
There is also a body called the Council of Europe, but it is not an arm of the EU, and there are other bodies, such as the European Commission and the Commission’s executive board, which increase the potential for confusion.
The European Parliament has its origins in the Community legal order as a purely consultative parliamentary institution created by the 1951 Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). The Assembly was then composed of representatives from each Member State, elected by their parliament and appointed according to a procedure established by both. In 1951, the Statute of the Council of Europe was revised and adopted the principle of a parliamentary assembly, although it considerably watered down its responsibilities.
The High Authority has been provided with a counterweight by the Council of Europe, the European Commission and the Economic and Monetary Affairs Commission.
Members of the European Parliament serve for five years and divide their time between the parliaments in Brussels and Strasbourg, as well as the European Commission and the Economic and Monetary Commission.
The Parliament as a whole fulfils three core functions: it establishes the EU budget, reviews the EU institutions and adopts EU law. Only the European Commission can propose legislation, with the ministers of the EU member states, consisting of the European Parliament and the Council of the EU, having the task of voting on amended draft laws. The European Parliament is holding planned emergency plenary sessions to approve the “European Commission Coronavirus Package.”
Members would have to be present in the Chamber to vote, but special measures have been introduced to allow politicians to make their decisions remotely.
The European Parliament said in a statement: “To fulfil its role, the Parliament is doing everything in its power to accelerate the implementation of this initiative. The MEP, who sits in the Green Group, insisted on democratic life in the European Parliament. Outgoing MEP Franck Proust (EPP) said a MEP’s mandate is to do politics differently.
The moment I leave my seat as a Member of the European Parliament, I prefer the second philosophy, but I have not completely given up the fight for Europe.
The European Parliament was established in 1958 as a Joint Assembly and originally consisted of representatives elected by the national parliaments of the EU member states. The main theme of the inaugural meeting was the election of the President.
It should be noted that all 751 Members of the European Parliament belong to this unique body. Members of the European Parliament sit in the parliaments of the EU Member States as well as in the Council of Europe and the United Nations. However, a significant number of members are not members of any transnational group and are represented by representatives of the Member States, the European Commission and the European Central Bank.
Parliaments that have been directly elected by citizens of EU member states since 1979 are democratically legitimised supranational institutions. In the last legislative period, more than 1100 laws were passed, which have since been adopted by the national parliaments of the individual member states. These laws were passed by members at the same time as the European Commission, the Council of Europe and the United Nations.
The First Chamber of the European Council, which is represented by the Member States, is governed by the Council of Europe and is the main body for the implementation of EU law and policy in the EU and represents the Member States.